bakgrunnsbilde stjernehimmel

About Opera Østfold

    About Opera Østfold

    Opera Østfold’s bi-yearly performances at Fredriksten Fortress has garnered domestic and international praise. The unique format and grandness makes every performance a «must see».

    Opera Østfold – history
    In collaboration with the The Norwegian National Opera, the occasion being Norway’s 100 years independence anniversary, a new opera was ordered. The opera was named Aurora, and was about the big Nordic War and the Swedish King Carl XII s fall at Fredriksten Fortress in 1718.  The world premiere was in June 2005 and more than 8000 people witnessed the performance. After this success the involved parties were eager to do more opera at Fredriksten Fortress, and already in 2007, Il Travatore by G. Verdi was performed. As a result, Halden municipality and Østfold County initiated the founding of Opera Østfold.
    Opera Østfold has during the recent years been established as a district opera, and as the presenter of open-air opera to a large audience in Fredriksten Fortress’ spectacular surroundings. Opera Østfold’s first district opera performance was Turandot by Puccini in 2009, and the second one Carmen by Georges Bizet in 2011, followed by Verdi’s Nabucco in June 2013.

    Central location
    Halden is situated in the south of Norway, about an hours drive from Oslo and two hours from Gothenburg. With Rygge Airport being less than an hour away, visiting and experiencing Østfold county is made easy and practical. Rygge airport provides a gateway to experiencing a cultural rich part of Norway. Transportation to and from the airport can be done either by train, bus, or taxi.
    For accommodation booking, visit


    Norway’s largest open-air Opera
    Join us for the next bi-yearly open air opera in June 2015: Puccini’s Tosca. Stay updated for more information.



    • Floria Tosca: Celine Byrne
    • Mario Cavaradossi: Ho-Yoo Chung
    • Scarpia: Trond Halstein Moe
    • Angelotti: Jens-Erik Aasbø
    • Il Sagrestano: Johan Wållberg
    • Spoletta: Kristian Krokslett
    • Sciarrone: Patrick Egersborg


    • Conductor: Magnus Loddgard
    • Director: Michael McCarthy
    • Design: Samal Blak
    • Lightning design: Giuseppe di Iorio
    • Sound design: Martin Mayer
    • Assistant director: Karen Løken
    • Chorus master: Vigdis Djupang

    Nettside og Grafisk Design levert av ODIN MEDIA